Transparency

The Holy Spirit asked me to disrobe before Jesus! What?! The preteen alter that deliberately took off all her clothes (in a previous post) before lying down in Jesus’ lap came to mind. And Jesus loved her so gently and purely. I knew that she was showing  confidence in Jesus’ purity and wanted to offer transparency before her Savior. Now that was what the Holy Spirit was asking of me. But I was not quick to obey. Transparency?

I struggled with the idea of taking off all my clothes, including my shoes. Did I hear that right?

I decided to search the Bible for any references to being naked before the Lord and found the following site: http://www.alliancenet.org/christward/a-biblical-theology-of-clothing

That article pretty much answered my questions but I still had to overcome the personal objection to disrobing before Abba and Jesus.

The Holy Spirit took my hand and very hesitantly I came into the Throne Room. Slowly I  took off my clothes, item by item, then my shoes and socks. Abba was silent, waiting patiently. Jesus sat on His throne at Abba’s right, also waiting. With the Holy Spirit’s encouragement I quickly climbed the steps to Abba, and in His lap. I asked Him to cover me with His voluminous robe and He covered my nakedness and held me close. At last He handed me over the arm of His throne to His beautiful Son. I had to let go of Abba’s robe to be handed to Jesus. How could they ask this of me? Jesus gently reached for me and drew me into His embrace as I pulled His robe around me. He was so kind and understanding. My desire for Him was far more than the desire to be fully covered. Respectfully, Jesus bent and asked permission to kiss me, and a scene from His horrible death on the cross flashed across my mind. Jesus on the cross knew the shame of nakedness. I remained in Jesus’ lap for a long time until the tension seeped out of my body and I began to accept His comfort and mercy and grace.

Rejection had been my covering from before birth – an orphan spirit – because of the violence around me and then released against me after my birth. I knew if this stronghold were not removed I could never accomplish the destiny appointed for me. By taking off the rags of an orphan spirit I was allowing Father God and His precious Son to clothe me in their righteousness (II Cor. 5:21; I Peter 2:24). Slowly the full implications of this graphic lesson washed away rejection and I was filled with wonder and joy. I belong. I’m a full fledged daughter of the King of the universe. No one can disqualify me because it is the Father and His awesome Son that claim me as their own.

Isaiah 61:10  I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels. 

The following material is taken from Gill’s Exposition of the Entire Bible on Isaiah 61:10 and edited for brevity and readability.

The nature of this joy may be seen from the text itself: it is not a carnal one, or the joy of a carnal man in carnal things, it is spiritual; nor a pharisaical joy, a rejoicing in a man’s self, in his own works of righteousness, for this “is in the Lord”; nor is it hypocritical, or only external, for it is the soul that rejoices; and it is the joy of faith. Joy unspeakable, and full of glory. “For he hath clothed me with the garments of salvation”; with salvation as garments; the salvation of Christ, which, like garments, aside from men, being wrought out by Christ; and is brought near, and applied by the spirit of Christ; and encompasses the saints, and beautifies and adorns them…. This is a matter of joy to the believer since it is a salvation so great; a garment so fitting and suitable, and obtained at free cost; and in which the glory of all the divine perfections is so conspicuous, as well as it being so full, complete, and perfect, and everlasting.

 He hath covered me with the robe of righteousness: not with my own rags,  and filthy ones, too. There is indeed no righteousness in my clothing, properly speaking; but the righteousness of Christ, the best robe, the wedding garment, and change of raiment, which, like a robe, is upon believers; it is in Christ, and imputed to them; it covers their persons and their nakedness, and all their sins, so as not to be seen with the eye of avenging justice: to clothe and cover with it is God’s act of imputation, and Christ’s application of it by his Spirit, Zechariah 3:4, which, perceived by the believer, causes great joy; it being all of a piece, like Christ’s seamless robe, and so pure and spotless, so perfect and complete, and so rich and glorious.

As the Holy Spirit brought this understanding to my heart and mind I began to weep and press deeply into my precious Savior. A wedding garment?! Oh how rich I am with all His blessings! I slipped off Jesus’ lap, clothed in my robe of righteousness, and skipped down the steps to whirl and leap about in wild celebration. The oil of joy for mourning and the garment of praise for a spirit of heaviness (Isaiah 61:1-2). I belong to Him and He is mine!

Leave a Reply

