Physical Healing

I grew up believing that people only received healing if they “held their mouth just right”. That is, healing was an iffy proposition, a mystery. Then my youngest brother’s little son got brain cancer and was dramatically healed after going blind from radiation treatments and being sent home to die. Healing was not the luck of the draw. It was just plain raw desperation and tenacity. By His stripes you are healed was the slogan my brother confessed over and over. It made sense but it didn’t connect to any foundational truths in my logical mind. Charismatics didn’t seem to be bothered by logic. And they were intimidated by intellectuals, so God must be intimidated by them, too. Thus, I was told, I couldn’t be a thriving Christian and be intellectual. I certainly knew God wasn’t put off by my quest for reasons why He did things a certain way, so I pressed my relationship with Him persistently. Far from being intimidated, Abba was gentle and patient and opened His Word to me. The sweet Holy Spirit is a wonderful Teacher.

Isaiah 53 is rich in deep meanings that have only yielded it’s truths in the last few years. “By His stripes we are healed” (v. 5) is not a recent teaching, but I’ve never heard a teaching on “surely He has borne our griefs and sorrows” (v. 4) until this past year when the Holy Spirit brought it to my attention. Of course! If the one is true, then so is the other! I began to petition the Father for emotional healing and have been overwhelmed with His gracious goodness. Amazing, abundant goodness.

But God’s grace and goodness are multilayered. Please consider the following Scriptures and how they apply to our Heavenly Father’s values.

Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst?  If anyone destroys God’s temple, God will destroy that person; for God’s temple is sacred, and you together are that temple. (I Cor. 3:16-17 niv)

And such some of you were (once). But you were washed clean [purified by a complete atonement for sin and made free from the guilt of sin]; and you were consecrated (set apart, hallowed); and you were justified (pronounced righteous, by trust) in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and in the (Holy) Spirit of our God. 

But the person who is united to the Lord becomes one spirit with Him. Do you not know that your body is the temple – the very sanctuary – of the Holy Spirit Who lives within you, Whom you have received [as a Gift] from God? You are not your own, you were bought for a price – purchased with a preciousness and paid for, made His own. So then, honor God and bring glory to Him in your body. (I Cor. 6:11, 17, 18-20 amp)

These verses refer to how sin effects the human body and one’s relationship with the Savior. But what struck me was the value our Creator places on each human being. He emphasizes that the human body is sacred to Him. That’s a strong statement and suggests the value we are to Him.

Couple the sacredness of the clay temple with the provision for healing in Isaiah 53 and there is revelation of how God respects and values each of us physically as well as spiritually. In Matthew 15:26 Jesus told the Canaanite woman that healing and deliverance are the children’s bread. Putting these verses together to see myself as God sees me is very humbling and enlightening. I am awed by the value He places on me –  the terrible price He paid for the completeness of my salvation.

By His stripes

Physical healing,

Children’s bread,

Body is sacred,

Leave a Reply

