When Emotional Healing Is Complete

Since the first of January 2019 I have felt that my emotional healing journey is complete. There has been a lull in the focus on my soul and I have realized a need to attend to my spirit. That is, the Word says:

I pray God your whole spirit and soul and body be preserved blameless unto the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ (1 Thes 5:23).

If a person’s soul has been ravaged by severe abuse and alternate personalities developed, if fragments of one’s soul have shattered, then most likely the spirit of the person has also been deeply wounded.

While the foundation of Dissociation Identity Disorder (DID) is self-hatred, that self-contempt can’t usually be addressed until the emotional wounds have been healed. And I found that to be the case with me. These last two months the precious Holy Spirit has been bringing back bitter root memories and the vows I made. In the recent blog posts I have mentioned some of them and the power of the words I spoke only to myself.

There isn’t much on the Internet to turn to but I have found some teaching that the Holy One has used to bring Light to my understanding. As I sit before Him and ask for His revelation of who I am, I am struck with the complexity of His creation of humanity. Teaching the spirit to take dominion over the soul is actually a journey into the transparency of all that we are. A journey into holiness.

Hebrews 12:14 Follow peace with all men, and holiness, without which no man shall see the Lord:

One particular area of my soul has continued to be a problem for me and I have begged the Lord to help my spirit gain dominion over it. I’ve made good progress and recently He gave me this thought from Psalm 131

Lord, my heart is not haughty,

Neither do I concern myself with great matters,

Nor my eyes lofty.

Nor with things too profound for me.

Surely I have calmed and quieted my soul,

Like a weaned child with his mother;

Like a weaned child is my soul within me.

I am no longer struggling with issues to be healed but with issues that require self-discipline. New habits and new ways of thinking need to be crafted. That thought brought me so much understanding and I come before my Lord with confidence but also  humility as I realize that I am a work in progress. The Lord is so kind and faithful and gentle. What an awesome God He is!

Leave a comment